I need to see my stuff but it is too messy

nbm
nbm Posts: 1
edited August 29 in Decluttering Cure 2024

I have ADHD and find it much easier for me to see what is in my cabinets (clothes, pantry, toiletries) as opposed to putting them in drawers. I fold and stack my t-shirts, jeans, sweaters, etc., but it is unsightly and disorganized looking.

I also have a hard time keeping up with housekeeping tasks, no matter how hard I try.

Any suggestions??

Comments

• Bobbie47
    Bobbie47 Posts: 1

I’m the exact same way! I was diagnosed with ADD when I was 15, I am 47 now, so I have a lot of experience. Ha! I find it a lot easier to hang up all of my clothes. I do put shorts in drawers, but the rest of it goes on a hanger! It helped me so much.

• SNandez
    SNandez Posts: 70 ✭✭✭

What @TMC said - a place for everything is definitely step one. If you have something in your hand and you know exactly where it's supposed to go, you won't even have to think about it.

Have you considered arranging your items by color too? Whether you fold or hang clothes, even product bottles etc., maybe organizing by color will help your brain just match the color instead of trying to work out what specific items go where. Hope that makes sense and helps!

P.S. I don't necessarily mean rainbow, unless you have lots of color! For example, I literally only wear black, white and shades of grey. So my closet is organized by gradients white to black (left to right). And sub sections of Pants, shirts, dresses.

• Dnai_23
    Dnai_23 Posts: 2

I'm a professional organizer and I recently worked with a client whose 21-year-old son has ADHD. We decided to go with open-front, stackable bins for his clothes vs. a dresser. He loves it and has been able to easily maintain the system. We labeled the front of the bins with simple instructions like "black t's, work shirts, etc." This is not what we used- but just to give you an idea, here's a photo.

• SarahEverett
    SarahEverett Posts: 51

Expert