Optimizing my WFH office nook

laurenwong3
laurenwong3 Posts: 3
edited July 2 in Design Questions

I'd like to optimize my WFH office nook to be more pleasant, more intentionally created. I've been using this for 2 years since coming back to work post-baby, and decor/ambience has not been my priority most of this time. I am currently 2-3 days/week here. This is a space in our basement family room, so there are a number of other purposes this room serves. (The couch is a pull-out, so this is also where guests sleep when visiting).

I'd love some suggestions or ideas on what I can optimize/ how to approach this.

1. Make my zoom lighting be more "built in". Sconces?
  2. Better desk/chair setup? These were both early pandemic buys, so not intentional to this space or even intended for longetivity.
  3. Is there a better setup for where my desk is situated?
  4. Help me understand if the painting I'm facing (Chicago Skyline), is not helping this situation.
  5. Would love to not feel embarrassed with my real zoom background — right now that TV is right behind me (it's on a swivel).

Other tidbits - I am a houseplant hobbyist, so trying to add plants & growlights into this basement space that's dark during the Seattle winters. (Note, these photos are in mid-June @ 9 AM)

Help please!

Comments

• CullenOrmond
    CullenOrmond Posts: 149

Expert

Hi @laurenwong3! Wow! I LOVE your desk — I feel like infusing more bright, vibrant color like that around your desk area would make the space feel warmer. Have you considered hanging wallpaper in the nook? I feel like a funky pattern would add some liveliness. Or, you might consider adding a mirror to reflect light off the windows behind you? I definitely think some sconces are in order. I found these sconces from Pottery Barn that might will add light and texture and the glass would hopefully prevent the bulbs from being too bright in your eyes!

• laurenwong3