What's something you know you should declutter, but you just can't?

CharliPenn
CharliPenn Posts: 57

Expert

edited August 29 in Decluttering Cure 2024

Even as a decluttering pro, I can admit that there are still some items I just enjoy having one too many of — like coffee mugs, holiday decor and college memorabilia. I try to give myself grace and accept that I'll par those collections down if and when I'm ready, and that's okay. What's something you have a lot of and know you should declutter some, but just can't bring yourself to do it? (No judgments on this thread, promise.)

Comments

• MeganBakerDetloff
    MeganBakerDetloff Posts: 100

Expert

no surprise here: i have a hard time getting rid of things with project potential! i'm trying to be better about letting things go after a set amount of time — if i haven't gotten around to the fix/makeover/upgrade by then, i probably won't do it. mixed success 😅

• losfrangeles
    losfrangeles Posts: 62 ✭✭✭

A 20-year-old pet sofa that belonged to my previous cats. I had a special bond with one of them (hand-raised him from a kitten) and that was his spot. If I was working on a project, he was sleeping on the kitty sofa under my work table. He passed away in 2020, but I just can’t get rid of it yet (currently, it’s hiding my ugly internet router). My current cat is indifferent to it.

• Cheri
    Cheri Posts: 19

I struggle declutterring closets… it’s just too easy to close the door and pretend I don’t have a problem 🫤

• CharliPenn

Expert

Megan, this is SO true. I have so many little items that I hold onto because I can "just paint them" or "add wallpaper to them" or something to give them a new life. But I never do anything with them which means they become clutter/junk. Do you think a project schedule could help with this, or something? How can we get TO the projects? LOL

• CharliPenn

Expert

edited June 18