Heidi & David's Surreal Square Footage

Name:

Heidi & David

Portland, Oregon

Division:

Small

Square Feet:

What I Love About My Home

After having lived in NYC for about 6 years, having double the square footage almost feels surreal... This place is triple the size of some of our apartments there and we still aren't really sure what to do with ourselves (someone pinch me!) We love everything about the space. The natural light, the open stairs, the airy nature and fact that it was a blank slate when we moved in. Almost EVERYTHING we have was either a hand-me-down, a craigslist or thrift store project, or something we made. We really love making something "OURS" just by adding a fresh coat of paint or some new drawer pulls.

Biggest Challenge in Furnishing My Home

Well, we've only been here about 2 weeks! So getting settled and finding really good deals on craigslist that were within our budget was a big challenge. David is a painter and I am a graphic designer, so we LOVE color, but also love that the white walls make everything so clean and bright.

favorites
Favoriting and voting have ended.

Comments (18)

Love the architecture of the building, the stairs and huge windows. I can't believe you've only been there for two weeks. Great job in the amount of time you had.

posted by Tracy333 on April 19, 2011 at 12:25pm
view Tracy333's profile

I love the kitchen, the windows and the colors, but what's up with the TV? Is it always off to the side like that?

posted by eise0100 on April 19, 2011 at 12:36pm
view eise0100's profile

I love the blue behind the bed!

posted by csc76 on April 19, 2011 at 12:45pm
view csc76's profile

Seriously - with just two weeks your apartment looks better than most people's do after two months!

posted by casey w on April 19, 2011 at 2:02pm
view casey w's profile