Kristina's "Cuban Vacation" Room

Cuban Vacation

Name:

Kristina

Portland, Oregon

Division:

West

Colors Used

Main colors: Seaside Resort, Mexican Spirit, Luck of the Irish, Cold North, Mexican Chile, Aruba Blue, Mullen Pink, Retro Gold Shag and Blue Island.

Color Inspiration

My inspiration comes from my travels to Brazil, Mexico, The Caymen Islands, Belize and Jamaica. My condo makes me feel like I'm on vacation every day. There are no two walls painted the same color just like the exteriors of the buildings in Belize. In all, there are 14 colors in this main room. The green wall is 5 different colors layered with a wet rag. I am a photographer, so it was important to me to showcase my love for photographs. The small vertical wall in my entryway became a mini gallery of black and white images that I love. The turquoise behind them made it a focal point! I found this painting of a man playing guitar at a street fair in Fortaleza, Brazil. This painting is a fusion of the passionate colors of Caribbean influence combined with bold, graphic, black strokes lending itself to the incorporation of a few modern pieces of furniture in the same space.

Color Tips

Start with a geographic PLACE that you love and base your room off that palette. I fell in love with the gorgeous brilliant colors that peel off the walls of old buildings in the photographs of Cuba. Don't be afraid of wallpaper! For the entryway, I chose a chic patterned damask wallpaper to surround the painted wood doors.

favorites
Favoriting and voting have ended.

Comments (21)

I'm not a fan of rag painting, but the color scheme is gorgeous. You definitely ran with your theme.

posted by BrianneA on November 1, 2011 at 6:17pm
view BrianneA's profile

Muy bueno!!

posted by millmack on November 1, 2011 at 8:27am
view millmack's profile

I really enjoyed you bold use of colors. Each wall inspires a new feeling/place. Well done...

posted by TAZ15 on November 1, 2011 at 1:55pm
view TAZ15's profile